6 Comments
Nov 7, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I wanted to grow up and either be a film writer/director or a film historian/critic. I never did figure out what to do with my love of film. I did become a writer though.

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I wanted to become a ballerina. I was obsessed with ballet. However, I grew up and needed to feed my children, so I became a Medical Laboratory Technologist, a job that sucks the soul right out of you. AND then I retired and became a counsellor, which feeds my soul well. I still like dancing.

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I wanted to work with people & that's all I knew....I remember as a child, I suppose I was about seven or eight....my teacher asked me what my favourite thing to do was?....I said 'Miss I love people...once there are people near me, I'm happy'. I can still hear my teachers response 'Well Louise you won't go wrong in this world with that & i'm not surprised you said that.'.......Funnily enough for years through my teenage years and even in college, I really didn't know what I wanted to do....I LOVED waitressing in my young years & stayed in that game for a long time as I found it gave me great insight into people....I got to meet so many different types of people and that fulfilled my want to engage with people & even figure them out...and also opened my eyes and heart to how people treat people - The good and the bad....I know this question relates to childhood...but I guess I've been lucky and see myself as always having worked with people in all my roles through my years and therefore I sit here smiling to myself answering this question! Oh and I always loved WORDS! You would never have guessed haha ;) Bouncing this question back to its author, what did you want to be Lauren?

Expand full comment